As was the custom on the Pennsylvania frontier, Conrad Beidler established his means of production with a mill on Allegheny Creek built in 1766. The Beidler House, constructed as a home for the mill operator came later in 1783. Still later, the Allegheny Aqueduct was constructed in 1824 to provide a “bridge for boats” over Allegheny Creek, since it could not be incorporated into the Schuylkill Canal system. The massive 112 foot structure, which boasts five red sandstone and brownstone arches was restored and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The park is open daily and the Beidler House holds an Open House each spring.